Tuesday, April 15, 2008

Maurya Dynasty

The Maurya Empire at its largest
extent under "Ashoka" the Great.

Existed:-322–185 Before Christ Era(BCE)
Area:-5 million kms² (Southern Asia and the parts of Central Asia)
Population:- 50 million (one third of the world population)
Imperial Symbol:The Lion
Founder:-Chandragupta Maurya
Preceding Statesman:-Nanda Dynasty of MagadhaMahajanapadas
Languages:-Pali, Prakrit and Sanskrit
Religions:-Budhism, Hinduism and Jainism
Currency:-Silver Ingots (Panas)
Head of the State:-Samraat (Emperor)
First Emperor:-Chandragupta Maurya
Last Emperor :-Brhadrata
Government:-Centralized Absolute Monarchy with Divine Right of Kings
Divisions :- 4 provinces:Tosali, Ujjain, Suvarnagiri andTaxila Semi-independent tribes
Administration:-Inner Council of Ministers (Mantriparishad) under a Mahamantri with a larger assembly of ministers (Mantrinomantriparisadamca). The Extensive network under the officials from treasurers (Sannidhatas) to collectors (Samahartas) and clerks (Karmikas).Provincial administration under regional viceroys (Kumara or Aryaputra) with their own Mantriparishads and supervisory officials (Mahamattas). The Provinces divided into districts were run by lower officials and similar stratification down to individual villages run by headmen and supervised by Imperial officials (Gopas).
Dissolution:- Military coup by Pusyamitra Sunga
Succeeding state:- Sunga Empire

A representation of the Lion Capital of Ashoka which was erected around 250 BCE. It is the emblem of India.
The National Emblem of India is derived from the time of the Emperor "samudragupta." The emblem is a replica of the Lion of Sarnath, near Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh. The Lion Capital was erected in the third century BC by Emperor Ashoka to mark the spot where Buddha first proclaimed his gospel of peace and emanicipation to the four quarters of the universe. The national emblem is thus symbolic of contemporary India’s reaffirmation of its ancient commitment to world peace and goodwill. The four lions(one hidden from view ) – symbolising power, courage and confidence- rest on a circular abacus. The abacus is girded by four smaller animals- Guardians of the four directions: The Lion of the North, The Elephant of the East, The Horse of the South and The Bull of the West . The abacus rests on a lotus in full bloom, exemplifying the fountainhead of life and creative inspiration.
The motto ‘Satyameva Jayate’ inscribed below the emblem in Devanagari script means ‘truth alone triumphs’is from Mundaka Upanishad.

No comments: